Mind-Body Program

I’m participating in a mind-body program for women who are experiencing infertility. We meet weekly and in between we are expected to engage in deep relaxation once or twice a day for ten minutes. I am hopeful that this program will help me manage the difficult and intense emotions associated with infertility. I can feel it slowly taking over my thoughts and I want to retain my identity as a woman first, and not simply as Someone Trying To Have a Baby and Failing.

I like the idea that I might be able to do something that could help me feel better. I know I haven’t been struggling with infertility very long – we’re only in our third month of treatment, trying for almost a year. But it’s already so hard, and I have to find a way to manage it.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Mind-Body Program

  1. Here from LFCA. I would dearly love to hear more about the deep relaxation you are practicing – how do you do it. I could seriously do with some ideas on how to take things a little easier. Just not sure where or ow to begin.

    Oh and welcome to the blogosphere!

    • Hi,

      Thanks for your comment! There are a lot of techniques to use for the deep relaxations. We’re learning things like meditation, guided imagery, yoga and others. The idea is to do it every day for about 20 minutes, and to produce the “relaxation response,” a deep relaxation that is meant to counter the flight-or-fight response. I’ve also begun acupuncture. One good site for info is: http://www.relaxationresponse.org/

      Thanks for letting me know about your blog! I’ll keep up with it!

  2. I’m in a hypnobirthing class right now, and my instructor has also worked with infertile patients … she says that the power of the mind to heal and change our bodies is remarkable! I wish you luck with it! Welcome to the IF blogosphere!

Leave a Reply

